Ring and pinion opinions.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by JF74chevelle on Fri May 26, 2017 12:47 am

Since I need to change out my rear gears which are 2.73s to help out my clutch so I don't have to ride it out of first, and I'm going to go with 3.73s because I want street quick performance and I don't really drive on the freeway for more than 5 miles. What I need help with is should I change the gears myself or should I have a shop do it. The shop I spoke to said $300 to change them out. Other shops have quoted way higher but I know this shop does good work because it is my uncles best friends shop. I have never does this before and I understand that you have to set backlash and preload but I am still not sure if I should leave it to a pro or not. Let me hear what you guys think. Thanks-Justin
avatar
JF74chevelle
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by fasrnur on Fri May 26, 2017 4:50 am

If you've never done a gear change, I would leave it to a pro. That's not saying that you couldn't do it, I'd just let them do it for that price sir.
avatar
fasrnur
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 3

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by Joe73 on Fri May 26, 2017 6:16 am

That's a good price. I'd let them do it.
avatar
Joe73
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 65

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by bracketchev1221 on Fri May 26, 2017 6:19 am

See if he'll let you watch to try to learn a little.
avatar
bracketchev1221
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 14

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by clanceman427 on Fri May 26, 2017 6:33 am

I was in the same boat at your age. I elected to have a car buddy's older brother do mine after he convinced me he knew what he was doing.  The rear moaned and whined until it eventually ate the ring and pinion.

Then I had to replace all those parts again! Plus pay for a pro shop to do it properly.

Bet the parts would be more than $300 if that happened to you, so I recommend having it done.  Not saying you couldn't but why learn the hard lessons on your only car?
avatar
clanceman427
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 14

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by JF74chevelle on Fri May 26, 2017 10:01 am

Okay thank you for the suggestions, guess I'll be letting them do it and maybe get my hands on it to learn too.
avatar
JF74chevelle
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by Joe73 on Fri May 26, 2017 10:31 am

While your in there change out everything. Take a look at the outer axle bearings and especially where they ride on the axle shaft. Could be all pitted in the area needing either axles or a special outer bearing w/seal combo that rides in a different area on the axle shaft.
avatar
Joe73
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 65

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by Joe73 on Fri May 26, 2017 10:32 am

And no sticky tires unless you like breaking things. LOL. Or learn how to slip the clutch.
avatar
Joe73
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 65

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by JF74chevelle on Fri May 26, 2017 11:03 am

Joe73 wrote:And no sticky tires unless you like breaking things.  LOL.  Or learn how to slip the clutch.  

I never plan on running anything other than street tires bfg 295s
avatar
JF74chevelle
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by bracketchev1221 on Fri May 26, 2017 1:49 pm

A spool with 33 spline axles and Richmond Pro Gears and you'll be fine. Very Happy
avatar
bracketchev1221
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 14

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by BBMALIBU on Fri May 26, 2017 3:17 pm

JF74chevelle wrote: I am still not sure if I should leave it to a pro or not. Let me hear what you guys think.

The answer depends on if you want to risk paying to have it done a second time.
avatar
BBMALIBU
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 2

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by pila on Sat May 27, 2017 12:34 am

There are procedures, and a kit to do the change.  I did  the old style, with the removable 3rd member (pumpkin) some years ago, but haven't done one with the gears in the main housing....
Best to have it done by folks who do it for a living !

And good advice about the axle bearings. My Malibu has the seal/bearing combo in both axles !

pila
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 43

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by Hs1973 on Sat May 27, 2017 11:20 am

I did mine for the first time this winter. And it is a long procedure and Lots of measuring. If they will do it for 300 i say let them do it. If they know what they are doing of course. There are Many little things that can go Wrong if you are not patience, and you need the right tools. I took my rearend of the car, i left the backing plates with brakes on the car so i dident have to mess with brakes. That was helpful to have it sitting on the workbench, and not to have to try doing it all under the car. Also if you do it yourself, buy a whole kit with bearings and all. Its alot easier having new everything. That Way you know its not a bearing if you have noise after. I did not have any problems with noise after install but i had trouble crushing the crushsleve, it would not crush even with a Big airgun. So i had to take it all apart and change crushsleve. Also i used a week worth of evenings to read everything i could on the Web on the subjekt. Also there is alot of videos on youtube you can watch. Just take care and follow all steps, and do it right you will be alright. I wont mind doing it again, cause it is not so hard as you Might Think. It does however take alot of time. I used a couple of weekends doing mine. Good luck on the projekt, you will be surpriced on how much better it drives with better gears. I was shocked after putting my posi in as how much more aflive the car felt. It is not fast as hell but i sure woke the old Girl up. And she smokes the hides now with ease, and not just a one leg but sideways with smoke ad libitum.
avatar
Hs1973
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 4

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by JF74chevelle on Sun May 28, 2017 1:47 pm

well I think I'm going to leave it to the professionals and maybe watch and get some hands on since I know the guys doing the work.
avatar
JF74chevelle
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

Re: Ring and pinion opinions.

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum