opinion need for 74442guy

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

which hood you like better

50% 50% 
[ 5 ]
40% 40% 
[ 4 ]
0% 0% 
[ 0 ]
10% 10% 
[ 1 ]
 
Total Votes : 10

opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:26 am







Last edited by Limey on Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:34 pm; edited 3 times in total

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by IndyG3 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:23 am

Don't know why...I'm just not a fan of air scoops on these cars.
avatar
IndyG3
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 11

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:29 am

LOL, you're welcome 74442guy. I don't like the 75 442 hood, but the ram air looks alright. Either stick with the original or go ram air. Add the original to the poll. For some reason, I got a feeling people are voting for the 75 hood thinking that's the original one. Idea I vote for the scoops.

Scratch that. forget the hood & focus on making it launch like this:

Thumbs up Beer Thumbs up Beer Thumbs up Beer
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by 74442guy on Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:09 pm

i agree rago on making it launch like that lol but i would need some extreme power
avatar
74442guy
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:53 pm

no you just need the right combination of the right power adders dump the torker go with the performer, dump the street tires go with drag radial etc etc

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by badbiscayne66 on Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:46 pm

I WANT TO CHANGE MY VOTE TO GIVE ME BEER CAUSE NOT AVAILABLE WHEN I VOTED!!!!! Very Happy
avatar
badbiscayne66
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 2

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by 1973 454 MONTE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:54 pm

i think the 75 442 hood looks better on the round headlight 73-75 cars,

the fiberglass looks good on the 76 and 77 cars.

stock hoods are really to boring.

have a beer, sit back and look at the bad a$$ car after this dang pole is over.. Very Happy
avatar
1973 454 MONTE
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 35

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:06 pm

Limey wrote:no you just need the right combination of the right power adders dump the torker go with the performer, dump the street tires go with drag radial etc etc

Screw the Performer intake! That's not much beeter than a stock replacement. Torker is so-so, but get into this decade.

Professional Products Crosswind for BB Olds:
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:10 pm

rago I didnt know that pro products made one for olds sorry or would have recomended it

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:27 pm

It's the intake I had planned to use on my 455 before times got tough. Lunati also has a Voodoo cam out for Oldsmobile. Newest cam technology available & designed for Olds, not a Chevy grind fitted to an Olds core. At least that's what I hear.
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:30 pm

but the crosswind starts at 1500 rpm to 6500 and the torker at 2500 to 6500

whats bad about the performer ?? its starts at idle to 5500 would that not help his launch ??

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:46 pm

IMHO, I think the Torker is softening his launch right now. Nothing is really wrong about the Performer, except he doesn't need to add low end torque. Judging by the traction problems, big cam, & deep gears a Torker or the Crosswind would be better suited. I like the fact that the Crosswind is new technology & is the ONLY high rise dual plane intake made for BBO motors AND it's an Airgap design.
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:46 pm

found out with his cam set up he will benefit more from the torker

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:47 pm

Rago wrote:IMHO, I think the Torker is softening his launch right now. Nothing is really wrong about the Performer, except he doesn't need to add low end torque. Judging by the traction problems, big cam, & deep gears a Torker or the Crosswind would be better suited. I like the fact that the Crosswind is new technology & is the ONLY high rise dual plane intake made for BBO motors AND it's an Airgap design.

wont you get more power from a single plane manifold though ?? I ask this for I am going big olds in awhile also I traded my sled for a running 455 and need to know the most affordable way to build for power

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by bigredlaguna on Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:27 am

I used to visit this site when I had an olds powered car. There are lots of neat little tricks to improve reliability and oil control.

http://www.442.com/oldsfaq/ofbld.htm#BLD%20Engine
avatar
bigredlaguna
G3GM Senior Member
G3GM Senior Member

Street Cred : 53

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by bigredlaguna on Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:32 am

Doesn't hurt to visit Joe Mondello's site either.

http://www.mondellotwister.com/articles.html
avatar
bigredlaguna
G3GM Senior Member
G3GM Senior Member

Street Cred : 53

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:51 pm

Olds FAQ, even though it hasn't been updated in close to ten years, is a great place to check around for info.

To answer your question Limey, the Torker is a single plane, it's just outdated. If you want a single plane intake, you might as well go with a Victor intake. Of course, to get the most from it, you gotta fix the oiling problems & strap down the caps with a halo. Then there's the huge main journals to deal with.....

I really don't think the Torker would stand up to the Crosswind on either end of the scale. Look at all of the testing that's been done with the Performer Airgap stuff & how it always ends up within one or two horsepower of the single plane it is stacked against, but makes more down low. The Crosswind is basically the same thing. Here are a few things to consider:

1. The Crosswind is a high rise dual plane intake, the Torker is a low rise single plane.

2. The Cross wind is rated from 1500-6500, the torker is 2500 - 6500. Who has a better range?

3. The Crosswind has a nice air gap to supposedly keep the intake charge cooler.

4. Crosswind - computer designed modern technology. Torker - 1980's technology.

Maybe I'm biased, maybe I'm wrong. I just can't see an argument on which intake is better. Spend the extra $20 for a modern intake design & quit trying to build high end horsepower with a torque monster anyways, lol.
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:37 pm

here's his dilema he already owns the torker and the crosswind is 319 new from any parts store and evil bay

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:23 pm

Crosswind is a little cheaper at Summit Racing. Let me look around & find a better deal. I thought you were talking about your build?

If I were him, I stick it out with the Torker for a while. First take care of the traction control, then worry about more power I'd say.
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:24 pm

Holy crap, I just made addict! Five stars for me beeoootch!
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:26 pm

yea I if he gets the crosswind I might get the torker from him so kinda yes I am talking about my build and his at same time kinda gonna be like hand me down parts LMAO, what can he do about the traction issue is there anything past boxed control arm that will help it with traction ??

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:27 pm

Rago wrote:Holy crap, I just made addict! Five stars for me beeoootch!


wtg you reached the 1000th post mile stone Thumbs up Clapp Thumbs up Clapp Clapp Clapp Clapp Clapp Clapp Beer lol!

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:39 pm

#1 - If he would listen to me & drop the gear ratio to 3.73.... Rolling Eyes Bigger meats out back, drop the front sway bar & get some 90/10s when he goes drag racing or better yet, get adjustable shocks front & rear to dial in the suspension. There's different methods of thinking on stiff springs vs soft springs, so I'll leave that can unopened for the moment. I'm sure there's other things like trying to distribute weight as far back as possible & such. What were y'alls thoughts?
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by The Dude on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:40 pm

Limey wrote:
Rago wrote:Holy crap, I just made addict! Five stars for me beeoootch!


wtg you reached the 1000th post mile stone Thumbs up Clapp Thumbs up Clapp Clapp Clapp Clapp Clapp Clapp Beer lol!

Yeah & you're on your way to 3000, lol.
avatar
The Dude
Management
Management

Street Cred : 48

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Limey SE on Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:59 pm

yea man LMAO on a roll

___________________________________________
avatar
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 90

Back to top Go down

Re: opinion need for 74442guy

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum