G3GM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lifting rear end

+7
1973 454 MONTE
ant7377
Tom77
LSANTI76
dynchel
alleyball4
JiMi_DRiX
11 posters

Go down

Lifting rear end Empty Lifting rear end

Post by mychev123 Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:53 am

Whats the easiest way to lift the rear of a 77 malibu to give it more rake? This might be a dumb question but I'm new to this so any advice would be greatly appreciated!
mychev123
mychev123
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

Lifting rear end Empty Re: Lifting rear end

Post by JiMi_DRiX Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:25 am

The cheapest way is probably some air shocks. I did that in my 76 Monte when I was younger, but after a while it was kind of goofy, especially since I didnt have big fat tires and wheels to fill up the wells, lol.
JiMi_DRiX
JiMi_DRiX
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 3

Back to top Go down

Post by Joe73 Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:36 am

About 60-70 bucks for new rear springs. Simple install. Otherwise maybe some springs from the bone yard.
Joe73
Joe73
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 83

Back to top Go down

Post by alleyball4 Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:25 am

keep in mind, raising the rear end affects the handling ..

I raised mine, and have the big fat tires.

Let the experts on here, discuss that with you, because I don't know what you should and shouldn't do.

We have the rear sway bar ... but I know back in the 70's, we all threw traction bars on the back end, when we raised it in the air, whether it needed it or not ... lol
alleyball4
alleyball4
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Post by ant7377 Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:58 am

Get some springs from a 75 Caprice or other full size GM car pre 77. It will ride a little rough though.
ant7377
ant7377
G3GM Addict
G3GM Addict

Street Cred : 36

Back to top Go down

Post by dynchel Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:30 am