Absolute Noob Picking up a 76 Malibu

Go down

Absolute Noob Picking up a 76 Malibu

Post by STG_BB on Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:22 pm

My name is Tyler I am new to the site but I have been following the forums for a couple weeks now. I don't currently own a G3 but I am looking into it. My grandfather ordered a 76 Chevelle Malibu from a dealership in New York while stationed in Germany. When he got back to the states he picked up his new Chevelle and drove it to Oklahoma. He has drove it since then while doing regular maintenance on it. Well that was until last year when he put it in park in his driveway, threw a cover over it and left it there(it ran well, he just got bored of it). He has offered to sell it to me. Sounds like a great deal right (with a pretty cool back story imo)? Well yeah knowing my grandfather the car is in pretty great shape even though I have not seen it yet, this would pretty good deal for someone who has even a minimal knowledge of cars but I know jack Turd about vehicles for the most part. Now, I am more than willing to learn how to work my on own vehicle. That brings up other problems, I am a sophomore in College so I will have time constraints. So, after all that long winded unnecessary information my main question is what would need to be done to turn it to a daily driver and how much would it cost? This is what I have come up with that I would need to do to start off: Flush all the fluids from the vehicle, change the filters, add new fluids, check the brakes, new spark plugs, new battery, check the belts and rubber and replace what needs to be replaced, prime the cylinders, and then crank it and see what happens? If it fires up let it warm up for a while and then take it around the block and listen for further problems. If it doesn't fire up then I would be stumped. Did I miss anything? I do not want to ruin the engine.
Question
TL;DR Lack of knowledge, time, and money but willing to invest what one has into it. Good or bad decision?