Header Opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Header Opinion

Post by Hawk03 on Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:09 pm

I am switching out the 305 and getting a 350 crate motor and looking to get some headers.
Anyone have an opinoin on these? Its not going to be a high performance engine.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/big-11100flt/overview/year/1977/make/chevrolet/model/malibu

Also I've seen where I might need a bracket for the air conditioning, is this needed?

http://www.jegs.com/i/Flowtech/387/10042/10002/-1
avatar
Hawk03
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by thatfnthing on Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:29 pm

Hawk03 wrote:Also I've seen where I might need a bracket for the air conditioning, is this needed?

http://www.jegs.com/i/Flowtech/387/10042/10002/-1
If you have the factory air conditioning, the Frigidaire compressor was so big and heavy it needed support in the rear. My factory unit used a bracket that connected to the intake manifold. When I went aftermarket, it no longer fit, and this was the bracket I had to use between the header pipes to support the rear of the compressor. If you can still make your factory bracket work, or you have a smaller Sanden compressor, you should not need it.
avatar
thatfnthing
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 52

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by bracketchev1221 on Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:44 pm

They are not a bad econonical header. They will rust, but otherwise they are basic. 1 5/8" primary is good size for a low hp motor. They'll be fine.
avatar
bracketchev1221
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 11

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by 77mali on Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:46 pm

I have Hookers...long tubes...I love them but wish I had the same in shorties.  They're a pain to get on & off the motor on my Chevelle.  Have to jack the car waaaaaay up to get the drivers side off & the pass side was a pain with the stock starter too.  The ones I have came with a special bracket for the steering pump to mount.

If you can afford it get Stainless or the "hot jet" coated unless you don't care about the "rust look".
avatar
77mali
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 62

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Hawk03 on Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:58 pm

Thanks guys. I do care if they rust, just not sure how much vs cost of coated ones. I thought I read on here someone touches thier headers every year with paint. If money and time permits in the future I might upgrade the engine down the road but for now I think I just want to get the new engine going (probably won't be until next summer anyway). It will be a nice change from the 305. I wasn't sure if I should go with long or short headers, I've read where some collectors scrape the ground but the long ones gives a little more HP.

This is the engine I'm thinking about getting.
http://www.jegs.com/i/Chevrolet+Performance/809/10067353K6/10002/-1
avatar
Hawk03
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Biomedtech on Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:12 pm

Once you have them situated and any extra "dents" added for clearance you can always take em to a local shop and get them ceramic coated. Alot cheaper that way.Clapp 
avatar
Biomedtech
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by 77mali on Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:14 pm

Long tubes can scrape. I don't think it's that much diff in HP long vs short. Not enough to make a noticible difference anyway. BTW, that motor is also avail configured to make 290 HP in a "turn-key" version for not that much more money.

Good luck whatever you decide.
avatar
77mali
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 62

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Hawk03 on Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:11 am

77mali wrote:Long tubes can scrape.  I don't think it's that much diff in HP long vs short.  Not enough to make a noticible difference anyway.  BTW, that motor is also avail configured to make 290 HP in a "turn-key" version for not that much more money.

Good luck whatever you decide.
Thanks, I think I am going to go with the 290 HP now and reuse my carb. I might switch to shorties too since I will be about 2" lower than stock with my springs. I plan on installing the front suspension and motor next weekend and hopefully put the body on over Thanksgiving.
avatar
Hawk03
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by 77mali on Thu Sep 19, 2013 3:36 pm

Jeppers Creepers....why am I the only one on here to take a year to build his motor & drop it back in???? Laughing   I'm hoping to get mine back in the car before long too, Thanksgiving is my goal also but I have to spend some more moolah on a torque converter upgrade.  If it doesn't snow I'll be spinning tires by Xmas.santa
avatar
77mali
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 62

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Hawk03 on Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:14 pm

I back tracked and had the first 260hp engine ordered. Its a partial wedding gift (1 month married!) from my parents so my options were kinda limited. The new wife restricted how much I could spend, sigh it begins Laughing 

Now I think I will go for some Hedman shorty headers. I'm worried about clearance with dropping the front end 2" if I get long headers.

http://www.jegs.com/i/Hedman/500/68600/10002/-1
avatar
Hawk03
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by 77mali on Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:45 am

260 is still much better than stock.  1 month, eh?...congrats.

After 24 years I can say that those "restrictions" never go away...but you eventually learn to ignore them & do what you please anyway Very Happy
avatar
77mali
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 62

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Hawk03 on Sat Sep 21, 2013 9:34 am

77mali wrote:260 is still much better than stock.  1 month, eh?...congrats.

After 24 years I can say that those "restrictions" never go away...but you eventually learn to ignore them & do what you please anyway Very Happy
Ha! Thanks its been a fun time so far & she knows my malibu is my high school sweetheart. Razz 

I`m thinking the 305 was about 150 hp, it was getting tired so the extra hp will be nice. With this engine it gives me a good base if i am able to upgrade it in the future.
avatar
Hawk03
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Dinomyte on Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:07 am

I've been looking at the same thing, just wondering if I'll have issues with the single hump transmision member I have and long tube headers?
avatar
Dinomyte
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 8

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by pila on Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:16 am

We have to remember that marriage is a partnership of sorts, so treat your honey right and she will be more interested in your projects..
My wife lets me do about anything within reason, like all my hobbies with airplanes, boats, cars etc.
BUT, she says that if I get into railroad trains, my A$$ is out the door !!Very Happy 

pila
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 43

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by 77mali on Sat Sep 21, 2013 2:04 pm

What about winged jet-packs Bill?  I'm all in for that!  Laughing 

You're right though- the better you treat your partner, the less likely she is to say no.  After all, how can you say no to someone who treats you like a king or queen ?  I'll say this too, if she wants anything- I'm good with that as long as neither of us break the bank.
avatar
77mali
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 62

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by ant7377 on Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:19 pm

Same here Paul,she never breaks em! Im greatful.
avatar
ant7377
G3GM Fanatic
G3GM Fanatic

Street Cred : 30

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Bruisr on Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:56 pm

If I can add some advice!! Try to get headers with the flange as thick as possible, preferably 3/8 in. the thinner flanges bend easy and header gasket changing will be monthly. Otherwise invest in a good quality set of locking header bolts. Header bolts will slowly loosen over time causing gasket failure and the annoying header leak. Split lok fasteners are spendy but work great!! You must keep the bolts from working themselves loose. Also, if you plan to coat the headers at all, Run them on the car for several weeks or more. This "seasons" the headers and eliminates shrinking, settling , and any fitment issue when you go to install those freshly coated headers.. You never want to install coated headers on an engine that has never run headers before. Improper tuning in the Carb. could cause the headers to get hotter than usual and burn the coating, all header companies, will insist on this for warranty issues.
avatar
Bruisr
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 8

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by pila on Sat Sep 21, 2013 8:01 pm

In regard to the bending flanges on headers,  I've been using a different approach.
 I use another identical flange, cut in three pieces, in order to put behind the header flange.  I clamp the three pieces behind the original flange with three bolts through the three holes, and weld them around the edge and in the places I cut them.  It makes for a really beefy flange that doesn't bend.  Of course it's easier when there an arc welder handy !!Wink

The added flanges have to be cut in order to go around the pipe of course...Smile 

pila
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 43

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Bruisr on Sun Sep 22, 2013 3:04 am

Thats a very good idea! I'll remember to do that. I just happen to have a set of headers with bad pipes that would be willing to donate their flanges.
avatar
Bruisr
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 8

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Hawk03 on Sun Sep 22, 2013 12:48 pm

Thanks guys on all the advice, it is much appriciated! Yesterday we went to watch college football with my alumni association and then went to the 4 Wheel Jamboree to watch monster trucks and other stuff. It was cool and she enjoys it too.

I will probably use the locking bolts and then get the headers coated at some point down the line.

avatar
Hawk03
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by DiscoMalibu on Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:42 am

I bought the 11100FLT's for my Malibu. I had to move the strut bars on the underside of the frame because they hit. They're really tight by the oil filter, I had to get a shorter oil filter to make oil changes easier. Otherwise they're not too bad, of course it's nearly impossible to get to some of the plugs once they're installed. Which is pretty typical. I've been running them for a while now and the coating still hasn't completely burned off.
avatar
DiscoMalibu
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 7

Back to top Go down

Re: Header Opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum