Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by Roadcaptain S3 on Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:30 pm

I have to paint/dye my console. My dash-wheel-column are all buckskin so I'm painting it to match.

I''m swapping the column to a floor shift and the one I got id black from a Grand Prix.

Do you guys think if I sand and primer really well that the vinyl dye/paint will stick on the column?

I'm having a hard time finding the right shade of Buckskin paint for the column.

PS. Interior is two tone. The dash, carpet and console are Buckskin. The seats,door panels etc. are Light Buckskin




Roadcaptain S3
Roadcaptain S3
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 26

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by dynchel on Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:43 pm

If the console is plastic paint would work better.paint can be mixed & put in a rattle can at the (automotive paint store)  If its vinyl,  SEM would be my choice for dyes, use the pre prep spray first.


Last edited by dynchel on Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:47 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : added details)
dynchel
dynchel
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 40

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by Roadcaptain S3 on Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:47 pm

Sorry, my post was clear as mud.

I'm wondering if the vinyl dye will stick the metal column if I REALLY prep it well
Roadcaptain S3
Roadcaptain S3
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 26

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by dynchel on Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:49 pm

I'm pretty sure it won't.  Have a paint store color match paint  and put in a spray can.  Then sand/prime/paint.
dynchel
dynchel
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 40

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by driveit on Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:55 am

Wow, didn't know they could mix and fill spray cans.  Do they do that at Car Quest?  That is about the only one in town that has a lot of paint here.
driveit
driveit
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 15

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by dynchel on Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:09 am

Most large automotive paint stores can do it.
dynchel
dynchel
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 40

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by driveit on Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:05 pm

That is good to know. I will look into that.
driveit
driveit
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 15

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by Limey SE on Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:59 pm

driveit wrote:Wow, didn't know they could mix and fill spray cans.  Do they do that at Car Quest?  That is about the only one in town that has a lot of paint here.

I know some Orileys can match and mix, Not sure about Car Quest
Limey SE
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 95

Back to top Go down

Vinyl paint/dye opinions Empty Re: Vinyl paint/dye opinions

Post by Dinomyte on Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:09 pm

My local Car Quest does, but I believe they are the only one of the three CQs in the city that do.
Dinomyte
Dinomyte
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 11

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum