G3GM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

trannsmission trouble, please help

+2
BlackChevelleSS
ant7377
6 posters

Go down

trannsmission trouble, please help Empty trannsmission trouble, please help

Post by soufigured86 Fri Oct 16, 2009 7:49 pm

well, i am having some problems with the tranns in my car, it is a th350, the car has been sitting for a long time (10 years or so) what happens is the car will only work in reverse, there are no fluid leaks, fluid is full, smells decent (not burnt but old) and is normal colour, i am not good with transmissions, i have some theories, 1 pump not working, 2 valves stuck shut, 3 the tranns is "tired", i would like help with the diagonsses of this proble and some adivice on the best and most cost efective way to fix it

soufigured86
G3GM Newbie
G3GM Newbie

Street Cred : 0

Back to top Go down

trannsmission trouble, please help Empty Re: trannsmission trouble, please help

Post by ant7377 Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:34 pm

Pull it out and get it rebuilt .Its been sitting for 10 yrs and the seals and stuff are probably no good anyway. I guess you could take the pan down and see whats going on in there and check the linkage and stuff but if it hasnt been used and you dont know the history of it id get it done. You could prob get it rebuilt for about 6 or 7 hundred bucks.
ant7377
ant7377
G3GM Addict
G3GM Addict

Street Cred : 36

Back to top Go down

Post by soufigured86 Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:42 pm

would a new valvebody help, i realy dont have the money for a rebuild, i can get a new tranns (well used, but working) what i am able to do is get another tranns (non BOP bolt pattern, there arent many around anymore) and swap out thing and change the seals, i am very good at figuring things out as to how they go together, like i say i am looking for a very cost effective way to get this thing to move

soufigured86
G3GM Newbie
G3GM Newbie

Back to top Go down