G3GM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need your opinions

Go down

Need your opinions Empty Need your opinions

Post by Landonus on Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:35 pm

WHich lower door panel should I use? I want to go with the 442 panel but its a little warped and I'm not sure it can be fixed. The Chevelle panel is basically brand new. Anyone had similar problems with warping?

Need your opinions 2013-010

Need your opinions 2013-011


Last edited by Landonus on Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:56 pm; edited 1 time in total
Landonus
Landonus
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Landonus on Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:36 pm

And they look foggy due to the shadow of tree branches. That's not dye/paint.
Landonus
Landonus
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Pontichev327 on Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:43 pm

I like the "scallops" but the bend may be noticeable.
Pontichev327
Pontichev327
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 7

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Landonus on Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:47 pm

I was thinking about getting 2x4's the length panel, placing them on each side the upper part of the lower door panel, sticking it snuggly into a vise and use my heat gun on it. Wish I had some to practice on...
Landonus
Landonus
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by 1973 454 MONTE on Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:33 pm

I love the lower carpet look.

Those were also the landau option panel on the 75-77 montes


Last edited by 1973 454 MONTE on Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
1973 454 MONTE
1973 454 MONTE
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 35

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by 77mali on Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:08 pm

Try putting weight on the one that's warped & leave it for a few days. Just place on a dead-level surface inside @ room temp. See if it works- ya might get lucky. I'm partial to the Malibu panel. Very Happy
77mali
77mali
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 62

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Landonus on Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:23 pm

I scuffed my old Chevelle panels all to sh** getting in and out with my feet. So the carpeted choice isn't just for looks in my situation. I'll need to mount my buckets a bit farther back also. Diddn't know I was too big for the bench seat until I drove for about 3 hours in it, killed my knees.
Landonus
Landonus
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by 1973 454 MONTE on Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:19 pm

Buckets will sit farther back than the bench anyways.
1973 454 MONTE
1973 454 MONTE
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 35

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by dynchel on Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:23 pm

I kind of like going a little custom with the. Olds parts. I have'76/77 cutlass seats and console in my'74 chevelle. Unless you know g3's you would never know the difference. silent
dynchel
dynchel
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 40

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Laguna Budman on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:09 am

I would even with the warp new clips may sit them down good. Try this. http://www.clipsandfasteners.com/GM_Door_Trim_Panel_Retainer_p/a12992.htm
Laguna Budman
Laguna Budman
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 9

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Landonus on Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:26 am

I'll def try the new clips. And as for custom, had I not found the best 73' panels ever I would have used the 442 panels instead. Now they are for sale. I am also going with the 442 console because the Chevelle 4 speed console looks ugly. I would love to put a Pontiac dash and console in it but can never seem to find a dash in good enough condition (I love how they connect). I'm also looking for a good set of Cutlass sail panels with the lights in them. I want to go custom and kind of as top of the line as I can without going out of the G3 line. It's cool we can do that with all we have to choose from.
Landonus
Landonus
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Limey SE on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:28 pm

From past experience with cutlass's the windows are smaller on the cutlass than the malibu so that will save yu that trouble, just buy the lights from fusik.....wiire them and adapt them to malibu panel
Limey SE
Limey SE
Management
Management

Street Cred : 95

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by 1973 454 MONTE on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:57 pm

i put the carpeted panels on my 73.

Need your opinions Orig_d10
Need your opinions New_do10

i had to cut a new hole for the power lock switch so i put it a little farther from the door handle.
1973 454 MONTE
1973 454 MONTE
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 35

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Landonus on Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:01 pm

Def dig the scallops more. Did you re-carpet yours? Mine will need to be. There was adhesive and staples holding it on. Need to find the right kind of carpet. Also, anyone buy floor pans recently? I'll need one for behind the passenger side seat. I need to make a post on my car and stop littering up the boards with seperates.
Landonus
Landonus
Donating Member
Donating Member

Street Cred : 5

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by dragons_lair59 on Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:59 am

landon been trying to get ahold of ya. call/text me and i like the carpet better

___________________________________________
Sam

If life was fair I would have 150 G3's
dragons_lair59
dragons_lair59
Managment
Managment

Street Cred : 11

Back to top Go down

Need your opinions Empty Re: Need your opinions

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum